Architecture Award of "Polityka" 2020

results of the competition

June 2021


Polityka Weekly




On June 15, 2021, the weekly magazine Polityka awarded the Architecture Prize for the tenth time. Authors of architectural objects completed in 2020 competed for the award.

By the decision of the jury, the Grand Prix went to the studio from Krakow eM4.Pracownia Architektury. Brataniec for the design of the Educational Pavilion "Stone" in Warsaw. In turn, Internet users voted to select the winner of the Internauts' Award. It is the Mausoleum of Martyrdom of Polish Villages in Michniów, designed by NIZIO Design International.

This year, exceptionally, because of the 10th anniversary of the plebiscite, the Internauts' Award was chosen from not five, but ten architectural objects from 2020.

The ten awarded realizations included: Local Activity Center in Rybnik (Marlena Wolnik MWArchitekci), Powiśle Power Plant in Warsaw (APA Wojciechowski), NOBU Hotel in Warsaw (Medusa Group), MOSM Canoe Marina in Tychy (RS+ Robert Skitek) and Concordia Design in Wroclaw (MVRDV, Q2Studio), Bus Station in Kielce (Kamiński Bojarowicz Architekci), Józef Piłsudski Museum in Sulejówek (Krzysztof Jaraczewski and Radosław Kacprzak and PIG Architekci Michał Lah, Tomasz Grzesik) and Abram Gurewicz Sanatorium in Otwock (Grupa 5 Architekci).

This year's jury deliberated:

Grzegorz Buczek - architect, urban planner, member of the Council of the Society of Polish Urban Planners and the Board of the Warsaw Branch of SARP, lecturer at the Faculty of Architecture of the Warsaw University of Technology;
Anna Cymer - historian of architecture, popularizer of knowledge on architecture and design;
Paweł Dobrzycki - architect, theater set designer, painter and educator, dean of the Department of Stage Design at the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw;
Feliks Falk - director, screenwriter, graduate of the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw;
Marlena Happach - architect, urban planner and activist, director of the Office of Architecture and Spatial Planning of Warsaw;
Marek Kościkiewicz - musician, producer, graduate of the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw;
Jacek Michalak - vice president of the board of directors for development of ATLAS Group;
Ewa P. Porębska - editor-in-chief of Architektura-Murator monthly;
Magdalena Staniszkis - architect and urban planner, associate professor at the Faculty of Architecture, Warsaw University of Technology;
Bogna Świątkowska - president of the Foundation for New Culture Bęc Zmiana;
Jarosław Trybuś - art historian and architecture critic;
representatives of the editorial board of POLITYKA: Jerzy Baczynski, Jacek Poprzeczko and Piotr Sarzynski.

The vote has already been cast

Interior trends 2023
Interior trends 2023