Results of the competition for the Stanislaw Witkiewicz Award of the Malopolska Region, edition 2022.

results of the competition

November 2022


Lesser Poland Voivodship




This year's 11th edition of the competition for the Stanisław Witkiewicz Małopolski Voivodeship Award for the best contemporary architectural realizations conducive to the protection and shaping of the cultural landscape of Małopolska, organized by the Małopolska Voivodeship acting in cooperation with the Association of Polish Architects, Krakow Branch, has been resolved.

Of the 34 entries submitted, the jury, consisting of:

Stanisław Bisztyga - Councillor of the Małopolska Voivodeship,
Piotr Chuchacz - Chairman of the Council of the Małopolska Regional Chamber of Architects of the Republic of Poland,
Prof. Jan Tadeusz Duda - Chairman of the Małopolska Regional Assembly,
Dr. Urszula Forczek-Brataniec, Prof. PK - Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Architecture, Cracow University of Technology,
Dr. Bartosz Haduch - designer, winner of the 2020 competition,
Marek Kaszyński - President of the Association of Polish Architects Cracow Branch, Chairman of the court,
Ewa P. Porębska - editor-in-chief of the Architektura-murator monthly,
Małgorzata Tomczak - editor-in-chief of the monthly magazine "Architektura & Biznes",
Dr. Piotr Turkiewicz - Malopolska Regional Monuments Conservator

awarded prizes and distinctions in three categories.

In the category of Public Utility Architecture, First Prize was awarded to the studio Biuro Projektów Lewicki Łatak for the Youth Astronomical Observatory in Niepołomice, and Second Prize was awarded to Alek Janicki and Mariusz Twardowski for the reconstruction of the Wrzos movie theater into the headquarters of the KTO Theater.

In the Residential Architecture category, 2nd Prize was awarded to Jakub Turbas and Wojciech Zagorski for the Tenement House under the Golden Scissors in Cracow, and honorable mention went to the +ARCHITEKTURA Maciej Kubicki studio for the Three Sheep project in Białka Tatrzańska.

In the Public Space category, First Prize was awarded to the studio Biuro Projektów Lewicki Łatak for the Pedestrian and Bicycle Footbridge from the dam to the Castle Hill in Dobczyce. Two honorable mentions were awarded to the 55ARCHITEKCI offices for the Forest Pier and Nature Path on Miejska Góra in Stary Sącz and the "Land Arch" Design Studio M. Tujko for the Weed Garden in Cracow.

The accompanying voting for the People's Choice Award continues on A&B until January 16, 2023. You can indicate your favorites here.

The vote has already been cast

Interior trends 2023
Interior trends 2023
PZU Park
PZU Park
Ascale sinters - the ideal solution for countertops, furniture and cladding
Versati heat pumps by GREE - efficient and economical home heating or cooling
Green roofs by ZIDA