Become an A&B portal user and receive giveaways!
Become an A&B portal user and receive giveaways!

Last chance to enter project in LafargeHolcim Awards competition

02 of January '20

Until February 25, 2020, projects can be submitted for the world's most important architectural competition in the field of sustainable construction organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation.

This is the sixth edition of the international LafargeHolcim Awards competition, which is open to both novice and experienced architects. Commercial projects can be submitted, as well as bold design concepts from such fields as architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology and related fields. All submitted works should be characterized by the use of sustainable construction solutions, which should combine with architectural excellence.

© organizers archive

Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the contest is the world's most important competition on sustainable construction. It is held in five geographic regions, each of which has its own jury consisting of recognized independent experts. The chairs of the regional juries are: Jeannette Kuo of Karamuk Kuo Architects in Switzerland (Europe), Reed Kroloff of the Illinois Institute of Technology in the US (North America), Loreta Castro Reguera of Taller Capital inMexico (Latin America), Mariam Kamara of Atelier Masōmī in Niger (Middle East and Africa), and Nirmal Kishnani of the National University of Singapore (Asia Pacific).

Two categories, different requirements

The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, contractors and construction companies. Its theme is sustainable solutions in contemporary architecture and construction. Projects at an advanced stage of the design process, with a high probability of implementation, can be submitted, provided their implementation has not started before January 1, 2019.

In addition, students and young professionals (under 30) can submit visionary concepts and bold project proposals in the Next Generation category. Submitted projects can be in the early stages of the design process, including preliminary research and early studio work.

Participation in the competition is free. Proposals should be submitted in English using an online form.

"Target areas" in sustainable construction.

Submitted projects will be judged on their sustainable building solutions, which are divided into five areas: innovation and transfer; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource use and environmental impact; economic viability and compatibility; and aesthetic impact and surroundings.

Winners enter grand finale
Global LafargeHolcim Awards

The first place winners will participate in the Global LafargeHolcim Awards taking place in 2021. The entries will be judged by an international jury chaired by Hashim Sarkis of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the United States, curator of the 2020 Venice Architecture Biennale. The list of winners will be announced in the second half of 2020 at an awards ceremony in each region.

About the LafargeHolcim Foundation

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction has been dedicated to raising awareness of the role that architecture, engineering, urban planning and the construction industry play in moving toward a more sustainable future. The foundation demonstrates the commitment of its sponsor, LafargeHolcim, to promoting a sustainable approach in construction. LafargeHolcim is a global leader in the building materials and solutions industry.

Useful links

General information about the competition[link].
Introductory video[link].
Instructions for submitting projects to the competition[link].
Application form[link]
Jury members[link]
"Target areas" in sustainable construction[link].
Winners of previous editions (more than 250 projects)[link]

The vote has already been cast