Check out the A&B portal!

Aleksandra Wasilkowska and Robert Konieczny with a chance for the Mies van der Rohe Prize 2024!

18 of January '24

On January 17 this year, we got to know the 40 realizations that were shortlisted for the Mies van der Rohe 2024 European Union Prize. From Poland, it is the Błonie Market designed by the Aleksandra Wasilkowska Architectural Studio. And the Plato Gallery of Contemporary Art by Robert Konieczny's studio KWK Promes represents the Czech Republic.

Targ Błonie Pracowni Architektonicznej Aleksandry Wasilkowskiej reprezentuje Polskę

The Blonie Market of the Aleksandra Wasilkowska Architectural Studio represents Poland.

photo: Nate Cook

In October 2023 we wrote about Polish nominations for the Mies van der Rohe Prize 2024. At that time, among the 362projects completed between April 2021 and May 2023, there were 9 from Poland. Competing for a place on the shortlist were:

Targ Błonie Pracowni Architektonicznej Aleksandry Wasilkowskiej reprezentuje Polskę

Targ Błonie by Pracownia Architektoniczna Aleksandra Wasilkowska represents Poland

Photo: Nate Cook

polish realizations in the top 40!

It is the Błonie Market as the realization representing Poland that was chosen by the jury consisting of Frédéric Druot, Martin Braathen, Pippo Ciorra, Tinatin Gurgenidze, Adriana Krnáèová, Sala Makumbundu and Hrvoje Njiric.

Galeria Sztuki Nowoczesnej PLATO w Ostrawie projektu KWK Promes reprezentuje Czechy

PLATO Gallery of Modern Art in Ostrava of the KWK Promes project represents the Czech Republic.

Photo: Juliusz Sokolowski

On the other hand, the adaptation and reconstruction of a 19th century slaughterhouse—PLATO Gallery of Modern Art in Ostrava by Robert Konieczny's studio KWK Promes has been appreciated abroad and will compete for the Mies van der Rohe 2024 award representing the Czech Republic! You will read more about the realization in the February issue of A&B.

Among the selected 40 works were residential buildings, and those with a cultural and educational function (half of the nominations), as well as buildings related to gastronomy and hospitality, politics, health, sports and recreation.

Winners of the award will be announced in April 2024.

compiled by: Dobrawa Bies

Illustrations provided courtesy of the organizers

The vote has already been cast